Home / Research / Department of
Environmental Health Sciences

Laboratory of Chemistry and Environmental Toxicology

Head
Emilio
Benfenati
Head of Laboratory
Environmental Health Sciences
emilio.benfenati@marionegri.it

The laboratory deals with the monitoring of toxic factors (such as dioxins, PCBs, PAHs, endocrine disruptors,pesticides, heavy metals) in the environment and in workplace. Furthermore, it evaluates the exposure of human to health and environmental risks, through in silico and in vitro toxicity models. Based on the investigation of exposure and of effects, the risk is estimated using an integrated algorithm. Software for health and environmental effects have been developed in collaboration with US EPA and European authorities (www.vega-qsar.eu; www.toxread.eu).

RESEARCH AREAS

Reduction of the environmental and toxicological impact of chemicals

We are daily exposed to thousands of substances that have potential risks for human health and for the environment. Current knowledge about mechanisms of toxicological processes regarding substances of industrial origin, cosmetics, pesticides, food additives, biocides, etc. is very poor. Through the systematic use of in silico methods, supported by in vitro methods, these effects could be estimated for dozens of environmental, ecotoxicological and toxicological properties. These methods are available for free at www.vegahub.eu, and could be used for regulatory evaluations. This allows to take advantage of the most of the information available and obtainable about chemicals.

Identification of substitutes for substances of greater risk

The impact of contaminants and undesired chemicals is a risk. Currently potential side effects of pollutants are discovered afterwards. Moreover, an effective strategy which could minimize the harmful effects on humans and on the environment lacks. The innovative use of implicit information about damaging properties of substances would reduce these harmful effects. By availing of software, developed within international projects, the preparation of new chemical compounds could be addressed towards increasingly compatible solutions, with the desired characteristics. This is possible thanks to the availability of rapid informatics tools, predictive for dozens of properties of interest.

Head Unit
Alessandra
Roncaglioni
Head of Unit
alessandra.roncaglioni@marionegri.it
Davide
Luciani
Head of Unit
davide.luciani@marionegri.it
Marco
Lodi
Head of Unit
marco.lodi@marionegri.it
Staff
Kristijan
Vukovic
Researcher
kristijan.vukovic@marionegri.it
Anna
Volta
Researcher
anna.volta@marionegri.it
Aldo
Viarengo
Researcher
aldo.viarengo@marionegri.it
Alla
Toropova
Visiting Scientist
alla.toropova@marionegri.it
Andrey
Toropov
Researcher
andrey.toropov@marionegri.it
Cosimo
Toma
Researcher
cosimo.toma@marionegri.it
Federico
Teoldi
Researcher
federico.teoldi@marionegri.it
Nicoleta
Spinu
Susanna
Sforzini
Researcher
susanna.sforzini@guest.marionegri.it
Gianluca
Selvestrel
Researcher
gianluca.selvestrel@marionegri.it
Omero
Ranieri
Researcher
omero.ranieri@marionegri.it
Giuseppa
Raitano
Researcher
giuseppa.raitano@marionegri.it
Marco
Marzo
Researcher
marco.marzo@marionegri.it
Alberto
Manganaro
Researcher
alberto.manganaro@marionegri.it
Simone
Maiorana
Researcher
simone.maiorana@marionegri.it
Anna
Lombardo
Researcher
anna.lombardo@marionegri.it
Giovanna J.
Lavado
Researcher
giovanna.lavado@marionegri.it
Alessio
Gamba
Researcher
alessio.gamba@marionegri.it
Domenico
Gadaleta
Researcher
domenico.gadaleta@marionegri.it
Andrea
Colombo
Researcher
andrea.colombo@marionegri.it
Chayawan
Chayawan
Researcher
chayawan.chayawan@marionegri.it
Edoardo
Carnesecchi
Researcher
edoardo.carnesecchi@marionegri.it
Ana Yisel
Caballero Alfonso
Researcher
ana.caballero@marionegri.it
Diego
Baderna
Researcher
diego.baderna@marionegri.it
This is some text inside of a div block.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Codice:

International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation.

1205
Non ci sono pubblicazioni selezionate al momento.
Head
Emilio
Benfenati
Head of Laboratory
Environmental Health Sciences
emilio.benfenati@marionegri.it

Laboratori Collegati

Tieniti aggiornato sulle novità dell'Istituto Mario Negri. 

Iscriviti alla newsletter
Pagina Italiano