Home / Research / Department of
Oncology

Laboratory of Methodology for Clinical Research

Head
Valter
Torri
Head of Laboratory
Oncology
valter.torri@marionegri.it

The laboratory of Methodology for Clinical Research promotes and coordinates clinical trials, especially in oncology, in collaboration with national and international research groups, by combining the mission and the identity of a nonprofit research institution with high quality standards.

The laboratory is composed of doctors, computer scientists, research coordinators, statisticians, pharmacovigilance and quality assurance managers and certified monitors. It hosts a group, MaNGO, focused on gynecological tumors.

The laboratory provides also methodological and statistical advices. In particular, he is involved in the development of new statistical projects about biomarker associated drug studies, for preclinical phases  as well as for early clinical phases. The aim of these projects are to evaluate the prognostic and predictive role of biomarkers and to establish their validation as surrogate endpoints.
Finally, the laboratory is involved in the production and in the implementation of systematic reviews and of oncology guidelines in methodological studies.

RESEARCH AREAS

Methodology research in preclinical area

Many studies are being carried out to evaluate the relationship between the methodological quality of studies performed on animal models and the demonstration of the clinical activity of drugs. Furthermore, a research is carried out also for the development of statistical tests to be applied in the study of antitumor efficacy in mouse models.

Clinical studies with immunotherapy

Some clinical studies evaluate the effectiveness of drugs able to promote the activity of lymphocytes against tumor cells, in particular by removing those brakes that limit the activity of lymphocytes. The most important projects are in the field of lung, pleura, head and neck, endometrial and melanoma tumors.

Clinical studies about drug repositioning in oncology

Some drugs used for non oncological diseases could reveal antitumor activity or ability to increase the effectiveness of chemotherapy drugs. Since these drugs are generally very cheap, the potential of this kind of study could be examined only in nonprofit pharmacological research institutes, such as our institute. The main ongoing clinical studies investigating the effectiveness of drug repositioning concern breast and ovarian cancer.

Clinical studies about therapy of rare tumors and of rare subpopulations of frequent tumors

Clinical studies on rare tumors have to face with problems of difficult recruitment of patients and with the lack of invested economic resources. This kind of research requires necessarily the contribution of different clinical centers coordinated by nonprofit institutions. In our laboratory studies about new therapies for the treatment of thymomas, ovarian cancer, mesotheliomas and sarcomas are being carried out.

Clinical studies on local chemotherapy

Two clinical trials are ongoing to evaluate the efficacy of Hyperthermic IntraPeritoneal Chemotherapy (HIPEC), with the aim to control relapses in patients with gastrointestinal tract tumor, such as colon carcinoma and stomach carcinoma.

Palliative cares

About palliative cares, projects are aimed at generating models that describe the clinical, psychological, welfare and organizational features of patients sent to the specialist palliative cares network. Prognostic models are produced based on clinical factors defined at the time of taking charge. Training courses for palliative cares staff and for general medicine doctors are also evaluated. An analysis of clinical end-of-life, diagnostic and therapeutic pathways is performed for patients with severe diseases.

Pain therapy research

Projects on pain therapy concern the evaluation of the impact of cannabinoids for the treatments of symptomatology in patients with fibromyalgia. Furthermore, this projects also aims to validate the Italian language of tests written to assess the risk of "use disorders", for patients suffering of non-cancer chronic pain, treated with opioids continuously.

Sistematic revision and guidelines activities

A continuous updating of the AIOM Guidelines (Italian Association of Medical Oncology) and production of Guidelines for AISOD (Italian Association of Dental Sedationists) and for SIAPEC (Italian Association of Pathological Anatomy) is ongoing. Furthermore, methodological support (Evidence Review Team) is provided for the production of Autism Guidelines.

Head Unit
Eliana
Rulli
Head of Unit
eliana.rulli@marionegri.it
Luca
Porcu
Head of Unit
luca.porcu@marionegri.it
Davide
Poli
Head of Unit
davide.poli@marionegri.it
Marlen Victoria
Llerena Mesa
Head of Unit
marlen.llerena@marionegri.it
Veronica Giuseppina
Giuliano
Head of Unit
veronica.giuliano@marionegri.it
Roldano
Fossati
Head of Unit
roldano.fossati@marionegri.it
Irene
De Simone
Head of Unit
irene.desimone@marionegri.it
Oscar
Corli
Head of Unit
oscar.corli@marionegri.it
Michela
Cinquini
Head of Unit
michela.cinquini@marionegri.it
Luciano
Carlucci
Head of Unit
luciano.carlucci@marionegri.it
Cristina
Bosetti
Head of Unit
cristina.bosetti@marionegri.it
Elena
Biagioli
Head of Unit
elena.biagioli@marionegri.it
Staff
Fabiana
Zollo
Researcher
Monica
Carsenzuola
Researcher
Paola
Tonto
Researcher
paola.tonto@marionegri.it
Francesca
Tettamanzi
Researcher
francesca.tettamanzi@marionegri.it
Simona Fortunata
Stupia
Assistant
simona.stupia@marionegri.it
Francesca
Scellato
Researcher
francesca.scellato@marionegri.it
Claudia
Santucci
Researcher
claudia.santucci@marionegri.it
Erica
Rulli
Researcher
erica.rulli@marionegri.it
Anna
Roberto
Researcher
anna.roberto@marionegri.it
Vanna
Pistotti
Reseracher
vanna.pistotti@marionegri.it
Emanuele Manuel
Negri
Researcher
emanuele.negri@marionegri.it
Ivan
Moschetti
Researcher
ivan.moschetti@marionegri.it
Mauro
Montanari
Researcher
mauro.montanari@marionegri.it
Stefano
Martini
Researcher
stefano.martini@marionegri.it
Marco
Martinetti
Researcher
Lorenzo
Legramandi
Researcher
lorenzo.legramandi@marionegri.it
Lital Hannah
Hollander
Researcher
lital.hollander@marionegri.it
Valentina
Giugliano
Researcher
valentina.giugliano@marionegri.it
Fabio
Galli
Researcher
fabio.galli@marionegri.it
Francesca
Galli
Researcher
francesca.galli@marionegri.it
Giuseppe
Funari
Researcher
giuseppe.funari@marionegri.it
Andrea
Frassine
Researcher
andrea.frassine@marionegri.it
Veronica Andrea
Fittipaldo
Researcher
veronicaandrea.fittipaldo@marionegri.it
Nicole
Corsi
Researcher
nicole.corsi@marionegri.it
Luca
Clivio
Researcher
luca.clivio@marionegri.it
Federica
Chiappa
Researcher
federica.chiappa@marionegri.it
Maria Clara
Caudana
Researcher
clara.caudana@marionegri.it
Chiara
Carpentieri
Researcher
chiara.carpentieri@marionegri.it
Elda
Caccia
Researcher
elda.caccia@marionegri.it
Maria Francesca
Alvisi
Researcher
mariafrancesca.alvisi@marionegri.it
This is some text inside of a div block.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Codice:

International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation.

1205
Non ci sono pubblicazioni selezionate al momento.
Head
Valter
Torri
Head of Laboratory
Oncology
valter.torri@marionegri.it

Related Laboratories

Tieniti aggiornato sulle novità dell'Istituto Mario Negri. 

Iscriviti alla newsletter
Pagina Italiano