Home / Research / Department of
Renal Medicine

Laboratory of Advanced Development of Drugs

Head
Norberto
Perico
Head of Laboratory
Renal Medicine
norberto.perico@marionegri.it
Senior Advisor
No items found.

The laboratory focuses on three main themes:

  • Developing innovative pharmacological protocols for immunosuppression and cellular therapies to induce immunological tolerance to kidney transplantation in humans
  • Discovering new drugs that can slow or stop the progression of autosomal dominant polycystic kidney disease (ADPKD) to end-stage renal failure
  • Developing screening and intervention strategies to prevent the onset of chronic kidney diseases and their complications, particularly in emerging countries.
RESEARCH AREAS

Inducing immunological tolerance to organ transplantation with mesenchymal stromal cells

The aim is to evaluate the tolerability and safety of systemic infusion of autologous or allogeneic mesenchymal stromal (MSC) cells peri-transplant in kidney or liver transplantation. In parallel, the ability of these cells to modulate the recipient's immune system is studied in order to induce immunological tolerance towards the transplanted organ.

Identifying new drugs for polycystic kidney disease

Our research aims to establish the efficacy and safety of innovative pharmacological therapies for ADPKD and its extra-renal manifestations in clinical trials. We focus specifically on slow-release somatostatin analogues, such as octreotide-LAR, and their use in patients with normal renal function or with different degrees of renal insufficiency. We also work to identify functional markers and radiological images that can predict the efficacy of the proposed therapies.

Epidemiology of kidney diseases in the Global Burden of Diseases (GBD) study

In collaboration with the Institute of Health Metrics and Evaluation in Seattle (USA), which coordinates the GBD project, we help to estimate the number of patients globally with chronic kidney diseases, as well as the number of deaths that are attributable to these diseases, and their risk factors.

Head Unit
Aneliya Parvanova
Ilieva
Head of Unit
aneliya.parvanova@marionegri.it
Staff
Matias
Trillini
Researcher
matias.trillini@marionegri.it
Chiara
Satriano
Researcher
chiara.satriano@marionegri.it
Stefano
Rota
Researcher
Manuel Alfredo
Podesta'
Researcher
manuel.podesta@guest.marionegri.it
Eliana
Gotti
Researcher
Monica
Cortinovis
Researcher
monica.cortinovis@marionegri.it
Boris
Bikbov
Researcher
boris.bikbov@marionegri.it
Simone
Amaglio
Researcher
simone.amaglio@marionegri.it
This is some text inside of a div block.
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Codice:

International Consensus on Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation.

1205
Non ci sono pubblicazioni selezionate al momento.
Head
Norberto
Perico
Head of Laboratory
Renal Medicine
norberto.perico@marionegri.it
Senior Advisor
No items found.

Related Laboratories

Tieniti aggiornato sulle novità dell'Istituto Mario Negri. 

Iscriviti alla newsletter
Pagina Italiano